Catch Me If You Cannes by Lisa Dickenson

 

catch me

The first part of Catch Me If You Cannes, the gorgeously summery four part story from Lisa Dickenson is out tomorrow and I am so excited for you to read it. Here are my thoughts.

Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!! I was so so excited to start this book and it absolutely didn’t disappoint. I wish I could describe how much I love this story, it is wonderfully awesome and just all kinds of fabulousness. I quite simply devoured it and I didn’t move for hours as I sat riveted to every word, the ups and downs and every twist in the tale.

Lisa has an outstanding writing style that just has you smiling on every single page; its fresh and original, adorably silly and uniquely Lisa.

We meet Jess and Bryony starting out on an adventure to the Cannes Film Festival, for Bryony it’s for work, for Jess it’s about seeing the world, creating memories, seeking adventure and escaping, for a while, from her life.

I loved these two characters so much. Jess and Bryony’s lifelong friendship, their closeness and the banter between them is completely flawless.

Lisa creates these perfect real people that you wish were your friends. Jess and Bryony were so utterly funny, warm and just damned likeable. And Leo, our hero, I fell for him so hard. He wasn’t the stereotypical dark, brooding hunk, he was this sweet, funny, normal guy which just made him so damned loveable. I love how he flirted badly, saying and doing all the wrong things. I just wanted to reach into the book and give him a big cuddle, he was just so freaking adorable. And the wonderful cast of supporting characters from the lovies that Jess and Bryony met including lovely Richard, Veronica the vulnerable movie star, Harvey, Leo’s friend, the very sinister Bruno and Jess’s mad but wonderful family, it just helped to make the book shine as Jess and Bryony seemed to tumble from one adventure to the next.

The story itself was a wonderful slice of summery, sparkly escapism as Jess ends up faking a far more glamorous life than her real one and getting away with it and Bryony, a trashy magazine journalist, wrestles with her conscience and strives to better her career, but will she have to sell out her morals to go up in the world? Plus there was lots more sinister goings on in Leo’s world, what could he be hiding and will it ultimately tear him and Jess apart? I became so invested in this gripping, tantalizing story and the wonderful characters and their lives that I honestly could not put the book down.

Lisa does humour to absolute perfection, not only does almost every piece of dialogue or banter make you smile hugely because its so real and infectious, there’s also lots of gorgeously funny descriptions that Lisa just unobtrusively slips into the story – Jess curtsying to a movie star made me giggle endlessly – but the scrapes that these girls get themselves into made me literally laugh out loud on several occasions, probably one of my favourites involving Danny Devito. I cringed, I snorted, I guffawed, I closed my eyes and peeked through my fingers at what was going to happen next as the girls fumbled and bumbled their way through the glitzy world of parties, super yachts and super stars. I bloomin’ loved every single bit of it.

I cannot shout louder about this book, it is an absolute delight to read and is definitely one of my favourites for 2015. Flawless, gorgeous, hilarious perfection and one I want to read again and again.

To pre-order your copy so it arrives on your kindle tomorrow in all its sparkly goodness, just click here and then go ahead and order the other three parts too, I promise you, you won’t regret it.

http://amzn.to/1yYJlld

2 thoughts on “Catch Me If You Cannes by Lisa Dickenson

    • Thank you. I never know what to put in reviews, especially as I don’t want to give away the plot. I just want to shout at people to buy this book. I love it so much, it stands head and shoulders above other chicklit stories, so fresh and funny

Leave a Reply

