Driving Home for Christmas by A.L. Michael

I’m delighted to have A.L. Michael on my blog today, talking about her newest book, Driving Home for Christmas.

Here’s the blurb:

IMG_3794Megan McAllister is home for Christmas…whether she likes it or not!Christmas is about family…and for Megan family means two people: herself, and her daughter Skye. It doesn’t mean her parents who, ten years ago, saw her pregnancy as anything but a miracle. And it definitely doesn’t include her irresistible ex-boyfriend Lucas Bright.

So ‘Driving Home for Christmas’ has never been top of Megan’s festive playlist. But for Skye, she knows she needs to spend the holiday season with the people she’s left behind. She can do this. Even if the thought of meeting Lucas under the mistletoe still has her feeling like she’s drunk one-too-many Snowballs!But somewhere between the hanging of stockings and the crackle of wrapping paper, Christmas starts to sparkle. And Megan begins to wonder if family could be bigger than her and Skye after all…Pop the buck’s fizz, stoke the fire and prepare to giggle the festive season away with AL Michael!

How the book happened

I never thought I’d write a Christmas Book. Until joining up with Carina, I didn’t even know there was a Christmas Book market! And then I had a look on Amazon and realised some of my favourite authors released Christmas stories or shorts featuring their characters- how wonderful is that?! My favourite thing around Christmas as a child was to get books as gifts, and curl up in the big armchair, under the light of the tree with a hot chocolate and a gingerbread biscuit, and just read for hours. No school work, no distractions, nothing. Absolute perfection.

So whilst I was working on my next book for Carina, (and I’ll admit, I was struggling with Book Two Fears: Is it any good, am I a one-trick pony, is this a socially responsible book?) I got an email through from my then editor, wondering if I had any snowflakey romances up my sleeve. And BAM- yes I did! It took the five minutes between me receiving the email and getting up to make a cup of tea to get an idea and run with it.

The first thought I had was ‘family’. Family drama is always at a height around Christmas time. Everything’s more dramatic, more tense and yet we also put up with a lot more, trying to be in the spirit of the season. We want to be around people we love, even if they drive us crazy.

I immediately came up with Megan’s story, and wrote the intro straight away. And I didn’t stop for a month! Every day I was excited to go back to Megan’s story, to write her history with Lucas, to make Skye brilliant and adorable. I missed them when I didn’t get to write their stories. It was the quickest, and longest book I’ve ever written, and even though it was meant to be an easy Christmas read, I think it deals with issues I love- compromise, vulnerability, letting people into your life, trusting people. And what is Christmas, if not a time to think about your relationships with people, put in energy, and share the love?

 

Driving Home for Christmas is out now and you can buy it here http://amzn.to/1u4DSqb

You can follow A.L.Michael at

www.almichael.com

@almichael.com

facebook.com/a.l.michael.writer

 COMPETITION

 To win a Driving Home for Christmas goodie bag, including merchandise, festive treats and a £10 Amazon giftcard check out this fab rafflecopter competition

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

