Review of You Had Me At Merlot

 

YHMAM

I am delighted to be a part of the You Had Me At Merlot Blog Tour today (A day earlier than originally planned).

First off, let me share with you the blurb

A four-part digital romantic comedy, You Had Me at Merlot is the kind of love story that will have you crying with laughter one moment and nodding your head in agreement the next. Full of sultry summer nights, hilarious moments and plenty of wine, it will warm even the most cynical of hearts and have you believing in the magic of romance… and of course, the power of a decent glass of Merlot.

Elle and Laurie are the last ones standing: they’re single, they’re not having babies any time soon and their weekends aren’t filled with joyful meetings about mortgages. For Elle, this is fine – she likes her independent life, she loves her job, and she has no desire to walk down the aisle anytime soon. But Laurie wants love and she wants it now.

So when Laurie begs Elle to come with her on a singles holiday to a beautiful vineyard in Tuscany, Elle is reluctant. You Had Me at Merlot Holidays promises crisp sunshine, fun and a chance to stir up some sizzling romance. Elle has no intention of swapping her perfectly lovely life for someone else’s idea of her Mr Perfect, but ten days under the Italian sun with her best friend and lashings of wine? How bad could that be?

I’m finding it really hard to find the words to describe this book.  Gorgeous, sparkly, smiley, sunshiney, winey, (I’m sure those last two are words and if they’re not they should be), funny, (I have to mention funny, because it is quite simply hilarious) heartwarming, wonderful and fun are a few great words to describe this book, but also addictive, unputdownable and amazeballs are some other accurate words.

I have read quite a few intense books recently and it was wonderful to step into the sunshine, quite literally, with this book and experience the fun, frivolity and frolics of Lisa’s wonderful writing.

Lisa just has a unique, gorgeous writing style.  It’s silly and funny and it stands out a mile in a sea of other romcom writers. When the story opens with Elle triumphantly ringing her friend to declare she has learnt the dance moves to All The Single Ladies by Beyoncé, I just knew I was in for a real treat.  Lisa’s writing just bursts with smiles, giggles and full on belly laughs, her wit and humour just sparkles from the page.

Her descriptions were so vivid, so well defined, I could clearly see the beautiful vineyards and countryside of rural Tuscany.  I’ve never been to Tuscany before or visited a vineyard or had any real desire to, but Lisa’s beautiful writing has me yearning to visit, to drink the wine in the sunshine, to explore the countryside on the back of a vespa, eat wonderful Italian food and fall in love with the Italian men.

The characters are just perfect, Elle reminds me quite a lot of me, the silly things she says, the tricky situations she lands herself in, her insecurities, her dreams.  I loved her, she was loveable, funny, kind, she was the perfect female lead.

Jamie was a gorgeous, vulnerable, hunky, strong, brooding, perfect Italian Stallion.  I fell in love with him as soon as I met him.

I completely fell in love with Laurie too, Elle’s best friend and the reason Elle finds herself in Tuscany in the first place.  She was fiercely loyal, fun to be around and I loved her relationship with Elle.  I actually wanted Laurie as my best friend.  Lisa’s characters are real, tangible, wonderful people.

The story was split into four parts and at the end of each part Lisa left us with some corking cliffhangers that left me screaming with frustration that I would have to wait another week to find out what happens next, and I was never disappointed when the next instalment did arrive on my Kindle, Lisa delivered every single time.

I know Lisa has a huge career ahead of her as a romantic comedy writer, and one that is already head and shoulders above her peers with her fresh, sparkly gorgeous style.

You need You Had Me At Merlot in your life, perfect to read for by the pool, in your garden or as you’re sipping a warm glass of Merlot.  Buy it now, I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Amazon links: http://amzn.to/1zjhc4k

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

