My Writing Process

I’ve been invited to take place in the ‘My Writing Process’ blog tour by Elle Field. Elle is the lovely author of the brilliant chick-lit books Geli Voyante’s Hot or Not and Kept.  You can find out more about Elle and her books on her blog here;  http://ellefield.blogspot.co.uk/

I’ve been following this Writing Process blog tour for the past few weeks and it’s been really interesting seeing other people’s answers.

So here are mine;

What am I working on?

So many things at the moment; book 2 of The Sentinel series, The Prophecies which I’m hoping will be finished and published sometime in April.  My next romance story One Hundred Proposals which I’m hoping should be out in the summer and my Sunlounger 2 short story.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I write about love and all its quirks but I set them around slightly different situations, thing that are a bit unexpected.  There are a lot of books out there about people that inherit cake/sweet shops and set about making them a success and these books always do very well and I enjoy them too.  But I try to give my characters slightly unusual occupations.  One of my characters is an erotic fiction writer, one dresses up as a penis to try to promote awareness of testicular cancer, one of my characters arranges proposals, another is a chainsaw carver.  And I think its these lightly different journeys through life that people will enjoy.

Why do I write what I do?

I love writing chick-lit, the lighter side of romance, I love writing about all the things that can and invariably do go wrong whilst searching for true love.  I love writing things that make people laugh but most importantly for me is a rose tinted happy ending.

How does my writing process work?

I write in what some would call a quilted fashion, I think that’s the term.  I write scenes, random scenes or random conversations and slowly start to stitch these scenes together.  I rarely struggle with something like writer’s block because if I’m having trouble with one scene, I’ll leave it and write a completely different scene then when I eventually come back to the scene I was having trouble with I have a better idea of how to finish it because I know how things will play out later on in the book.  Once the book is stitched together I will then read all the way through once checking my stitching makes sense and rejigging here and there.  My mum will probably read it at this stage too.  I will then leave the book to rest for a week or two and do other projects.  When I come back to it I then have fresh eyes and can not only see mistakes but holes where the plot falls down too.  I’ll fix these and probably read through 2 or 3 more times before I then send it to my editor.  She will invariably have her own queries and suggestions.

As part of this blog tour I’m supposed to nominate three other authors who will talk about their writing process next week.  As this tour has been running for several weeks I have found it really difficult to find authors who haven’t already been nominated or have the time to do it.  I will not let this blog stop with me, however.  I will find these elusive authors and I will nominate them here in the next few days.

 

One thought on “My Writing Process

Leave a Reply

